Research Call for Papers


MSST 2024: 38th International Conference on Massive Storage Systems and Technology
June 3-7, 2024 at Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, CA


MSST 2024 will be held at the heart of Silicon Valley, and offer a full week dedicated to storage technology. It will be a top-quality venue for presenting the latest research & development in storage systems and for meeting with colleagues from industry, academia, and government.




The Research Program Committee encourages the submission of research papers on the implementation, design, and analysis of file and storage systems. Specific areas of interest include, but are not limited to:


-Exascale storage architecture and design

-Scalable metadata management

-Extremely scalable and distributed storage systems

-New memory technologies and interconnects

-Disaggregated memory and storage

-Heterogeneous memory/storage systems and deep memory/storage hierarchy

-Edge storage systems

-Storage for emerging applications

-Storage performance and quality of service

-Storage security and privacy

-Data protection and recovery

-Auditing and provenance

-Data compression and deduplication

-Data archiving

-Storage solutions usability

-Experiences with real-world systems and data storage challenges


Submission Instructions:


MSST 2024 invites short (4-6 pages) and full (8-14 pages) papers.

The review process is double-blind.

Submissions are via


Important Dates:


Research Track Submission Deadline:

January 7, 2024

Extended to:

Wednesday, January 17, 2024

Author Notifications:

March 11, 2024  March 18, 2024

Final Manuscripts Due:

April 19, 2024  April 26, 2024


Jun 3-7, 2024

(Research Track: Jun 6 & 7)

Conference Organizers:

General Chair:


-Darrell D.E. Long


Research Program Committee Co-Chairs:


-Ming Zhao, Arizona State University

-Ben Reed, San Jose State University


Industry Co-Chairs:


-Adam Manzaneres, Samsung

-Dominic Manno, Los Alamos National Laboratory

-Rohan Puri, AirMettle


Publicity Co-Chairs:


-Shiva Jahangiri, Santa Clara University

-Zhichao Cao, Arizona State University


Local Arrangements:


-Ahmed Amer, Santa Clara University


Program Committee:


-Aishwarya Ganesan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign & VMware

-Ali Butt, Virginia Tech

-André Brinkmann, Johannes Gutenberg University

-Aviad Zuck, Technion—Israel Institute of Technology

-Bhimsen Bhanjois, Dell Technologies

-David Du, University of Minnesota

-Erez Zadok, Stony Brook University

-Ethan Miller, Pure storage

-Gerald Lofstead, Sandia National Laboratories

-Jason Xue, City University of Hong Kong

-James Hughes, Apple

-Jiwu Shu, Tsinghua University

-John Bent, Los Alamos National Laboratory

-Jooyoung Hwang, Samsung

-Peter Desnoyers, Northeastern University

-Peter Varman, Rice University

-Raju Rangaswami, Florida International University

-Robert Ross, Argonne National Laboratory

-Smriti Thakkar, Dell Technologies

-Vasily Tarasov, IBM

-Xiaodong Zhang, Ohio State University

-Youjip Won, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

-Yu Hua, Huazhong University of Science & Technology

– Qingyue Liu, Meta

– Ramprasad Chinthekindi, Meta

– Jayasekhar Konduru, Google

– Jonathan Tischio, Flatiron Institute

– Yubo Liu, Huawei



MSST Steering Committee:


– Gary Grider – Sam Coleman – Ahmed Amer